CSA Adventures – Week 4

This week I’m linking up to the “What’s In the Box” party over at inherchucks.com again. You seriously need to stop over and check it out – so much delicious food and tantalizing recipes!

First things first – sorry for the lack of pictures. I accidentally left my camera outside this evening during a rainstorm and it’s currently drying out now. I’m not going to turn it on for at least 24 hours, in the hopes it will dry out. Unfortunately, I didn’t get any pictures of this week’s share before this incidence. 😦 Assuming my camera will be up and working later this weekend I’ll try to get some pictures of anything we haven’t eaten yet. 🙂

Ok, now down to business. Here’s a list of this week’s bounty:

  • 0.7 lbs of braising greens
  • 1 pint of sugar snap peas
  • 1 head of lettuce
  • 2 lbs of broccoli
  • 1.5 lbs of heirloom turnips
  • 2 zucchini
  • 2 summer squash
  • 1 (huge) bunch of kale
  • 1 bag of basil

;

Some of the zucchini will be made into zucchini muffins – I’ll probably make half with chocolate chips and half with walnuts, since P detests chocolate and I adore it. The rest of the zucchini will be grilled, now that we’ve got our grill fixed (just in time too, since we’re experiencing a heat wave and our air conditioner is broken now, lol).

As always, the sugar snap peas will be eaten raw, either on their own or in a salad. The braising greens will go into a stir fry – typically we just wing it when it comes to stir fry. Add a little sesame oil or soy sauce and you can’t go wrong.

This weekend we’re going to make kale chips. Monster sort of loves chips (oops – my bad), so I’m hoping he’ll love the kale chips. Then I can feel better about introducing that unhealthy habit at such a tender young age.

Last week we sautéed the summer squash and Monster just gobbled it up. So that will be the fate for a least one of the squash this week. The other will likely be grilled. (Did I mention that we’re kind of obsessed with grilling? Because we totally are.)

Our farmstress shared a recipe for cider glazed turnips. Assuming I can pick-up some cider at the grocery store, I’ll give that recipe a whirl. If it’s successful I’ll share the recipe later this week.

Not really sure yet what I’m going to do with the broccoli. I know it’s a super food and everything, but it’s not really one of my favorite veggies. Probably steam some of it, grill some of it, and stir fry some of it. Nothing fancy, just our trusted standbys.

Finally, the prized item of the week – basil! Definitely going to make some pesto with it. The rest will be used on sandwiches, in whatever we’re cooking this week, eaten raw…we love basil!! So excited to get some! 🙂

Happy Friday everyone! Hope you all have a great weekend! 😀

4 thoughts on “CSA Adventures – Week 4

  1. I’m not a huge broccoli fan either but I will tell you that it’s probably the vegetable where I taste the biggest difference in it coming from a farm versus the grocery store. Pulled straight from the earth makes a huge improvement.

Leave a Reply

