Five Favorite Vegetarian Recipes

Now that we’re almost halfway through Lent, now seemed like a good time share some of our favorite vegetarian meals.  You know – in case you’re like me and finding yourself in a recipe slump. 😉

  1. Hearty Black Bean Quesadillas – These are amazing. They are best when you use cilantro, but I often don’t have any on hand and just make it without and they are still super good! The girls gobble these up (seriously – sometimes they each eat an entire one) and they freeze very well too.
  2. Vegan Lentil Soup – Seriously the best lentil soup I’ve ever had. I always skip the puree step, because I’m lazy and I prefer a chunkier soup. I always make a double batch of this so I can enjoy it for lunch the rest of the week.
  3. Broiled Salmon with Fruit Salsa – I am not a huge salmon fan, but I eat it because it’s so good for you. The rest of my family just naturally enjoys it (you should see Miss A gobble this down). The fruit salsa is such a cheery side to see during these dreary, rainy days we’ve been having here lately!
  4. Creamy Tomato and Spinach Pasta – This one is sooo good. I’ve frequently made it with frozen spinach when I don’t have fresh on hand and it’s just as good. If you go that route just remember to squeeze as much water out of it as you can.
  5.  Crock Pot Black Bean Soup – Admittedly, I have no recipe for this one. I just sort of wing it. Throw a pound of black beans in the crock pot, a diced onion, some diced carrots, a diced bell pepper if I’ve got one in the fridge, followed by equal parts diced tomatoes and water. Add salt and pepper to taste, along with a pinch or two of crushed red pepper. Cook on low for 7-8 hours. Delicious!

What are some of your favorite vegetarian recipes?

4 thoughts on “Five Favorite Vegetarian Recipes

  1. Thank you for including my recipe! I’m happy that the rest of your family is enjoying this 😉 My mother loves fish but will not touch salmon (except smoked). I think I will have to try your quesadillas!

    • Hehe. I enjoy your recipe too – and salmon. I just prefer my fish battered and fried. 😉 Pretty sure eating it that way negates and positive health benefits I might get from eating fish though, haha.

Leave a Reply

