Yarn Along – Baby Ripple Blanket Beginnings

image1 (7)

 

Shortly before we found out we were having twins and not just a singleton, I had ordered yarn to make a ripple baby blanket. Unsurprisingly, I only managed to make one baby blanket before the girls arrived. Also not surprising – I bought way more yarn than I needed. Now I am finally getting around to starting that second blanket!

Since we didn’t find out the girls gender before they arrived, I made the ripple blanket gray, teal, and mint green. I wasn’t a huge fan of the teal – I ordered it online and I thought it was going to be a different shade. Can’t remember the name of the color, but it was rather vague as far as indicating color. So, because I didn’t want their blankets to be identical anyway, I am using pink instead of teal on this blanket.

I recently discovered that I can get a little bit of crocheting done on the days Monster has preschool (they do a car pick up/drop off – how lucky am I!?!?), so I am slowly making progress on it. At this rate I’ll probably finish it right when the weather gets warm again, but since it’s over a year late at this point, I guess that’s ok!

Oh, I should add that though it’s not pictured, I am currently reading Frugavore: How to Grow Organic, Buy Local, Waste Nothing, and Eat Well by Arabella Forge. Haven’t gotten very far yet, but it’s quite interesting. Handyman Husband will tell you that I’m a sucker for any sort of alternative living memoir though, so I might be biased. 😉

Linking up with Ginny.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Yarn Along – Baby Ripple Blanket Beginnings

  1. What a great project. My kids could tell even as babies what blankets were homemade and preferred them. I will have to check out that book. Have you read: The dirty life : on farming, food, and love by Kristin Kimball?

    • Yes, I did read that book. It was really interesting – between that book and Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingslover I’ve really learned to appreciate all that farmers do.

Leave a Reply

