Yarn Along – Vol. I

IMG_2150

I can’t remember exactly how it came about, but back in November Monster asked me to knit him a pair of socks “right now, please”. I found a pattern and quickly realized I owned zero sock weight yarn. After explaining that I didn’t have the right yarn Monster said “I’m sorry you can’t make me socks right now.” He continued to say that everyday for a week until we finally went and bought sock weight yarn. And then he stopped asking about them at all.

I had high hopes of finishing these socks long before Christmas and yet, here it is mid-January and I’m just getting started. When looking at patterns I neglected to realize that in addition to not owning any sock yarn I also didn’t own any double-pointed or circular needles in the proper size. Since I’m lazy I decided to instead find a sock pattern that works with plain old knitting needles. I’m following this pattern although they’ll be stripe-less since this is my first attempt at socks and I’m boring.

I just started reading Orthodoxy by G. K. Chesterton. I’ve only read his Father Brown mystery series before, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. So far it’s not as intimidating as I expected but we’ll see if I still feel that way in a couple of chapters. šŸ™‚

Linking up with Ginny’s Yarn Along. If you’ve got time you should definitely check out some of the splendid creations others far more talented than me are crafting.

Leave a Reply

