Artist in the Making

Against my better judgement, I decided to get Monster some paint and brushes. I saw a sweet little idea for a Father’s Day gift that little ones could help with and it required paint (and a canvas, which I’ll be procuring later this week).

Today, we broke out the paints. And Monster loved it more than I could have imagined! My little man sat and painted for about an hour. And then kept asking to paint again and again for the rest of the day. In fact, Monster asked to take his paints to the playground when Daddy took him (so Mommy could get some things done without her little helper). Daddy obliged – I thought for sure it would be an instance where Monster insisted upon something only to forget about in 10 minutes. That was not the case today, apparently Monster took a break from swinging and sliding to paint!

 

Painting is serious business

Painting is serious business

...but it's fun too!

…but it’s fun too!

We also had some mini-meltdowns when Monster was told he couldn’t bring his paint to church and when he had to stop painting to go to bed.

Fortunately, it hasn’t been as messy as I expected. Monster did get on paint his shirt, arms and legs (due to resting his arm on his wet painting) but he was pretty good about staying on the paper. I also think it’s helping him learn his colors (although I think he already knew most of them, but usually won’t answer when I ask him what color something is). We are however, starting to suspect that Monster has red-green color blindness. He seems to have more trouble keeping those colors straight. I mistakenly thought color blindness was hereditary, but wikipedia.com has informed me otherwise. It could of course, be nothing (he is after all only 2). Looks like we need to work on letters and numbers faster so he can take the color blindness test sooner. šŸ˜‰ Not that it would change anything though!

Here’s hoping my little painter stays enthusiastic about painting at least for the rest of the week, so we can start (and finish!) his Father’s Day gift.

What is your little one(s) favorite activity?

7 thoughts on “Artist in the Making

    • Well, at least its something other than tool time for a change. How about farming; did monster’s beeps survive the replant?

      • They haven’t been replanted yet. :/ We’ve had too much rain lately to finish up the garden…should hopefully be going in this weekend. The beets are still alive though and have been acclimated to being outside, so hopefully they’ll survive the transplant. Surviving Farmer Monster will be the real test though!

    • I think learning how to cook is great! I’ve been involving my son, but right now mostly I just have him help me measure and stir. Takes a little longer and is messier, but I’m hoping it’ll pay off in the end.

Leave a Reply

