Watching History

We have a Pope!

Today, Monster and I got to watch the “unveiling” of the newly elected Pope. I told Monster he was “watching history happen” after the announcement, to which he replied “uh huh.” He had no idea what I was saying. But I was excited, which he picked up on, so Monster was excited too.

Then I made him pose for a picture to capture his watching this historic moment. You can’t really tell, but the news coverage is showing in the left hand corner of the photo. We are such Luddites that we have a TV, but not cable, direct TV, or the like; so we had to watch it on internet streaming.

This is the face Monster makes when you ask him to smile

This is the face Monster makes when you ask him to smile

When P came home from his long day of work followed by class, Monster was still awake (thanks, daylight savings!), and he asked Monster who the new pope was. Something I failed to teach him to say today. Oops. Guess what’s on tomorrow’s agenda?

I did however, teach him to say “I’m a little hobbit” today. Why yes, I am the coolest mom ever. Maybe I’ll even get it on video and post it on here…we’ll see. As you may have noticed – I’ve been slacking on my posting again. What can I say- life is busy when you have an active toddler, a husband who’s barely home, and a part-time job out of the home. I’ve got some many posts half started, just no time to finish them. *sigh* Hopefully once P is done with this semester, I’ll have more time for blogging.

4 thoughts on “Watching History

  1. Will the Birthday boy be available for a facetime visit from Long Island?? On Sunday. We’ll be at the St. Patricks Parade Saturday. But be home Sat. night!!!

    • Absolutely! Except for Mass in the morning, we don’t have any plans for the rest of Sunday (except celebrating the birthday boy, of course)! Would love to see you and grandpa! Just let us know when is best for you! 🙂

  2. It was surprisingly easy to watch hours of the coverage (albeit in the background), wasn’t it? I couldn’t help but think ‘”What’s history, Mom?”‘ when I read your comment to Monster 😉

    • Yes, it was! I had to go to a doctor’s appointment shortly after the announcement was made, so I had to listen to the coverage on the radio. It sufficed, but it wasn’t as exciting!

Leave a Reply

