CSA Adventures – Week 15

CSA day is one of Monster’s favorite day’s of the week. Between all the fun mowers, tractors, and trucks to look at, a friendly farm dog who eats carrots, the produce to select and weigh, and the very kind farmer and her assistants who know him by name – who wouldn’t love CSA day? Monster cries every time we have to leave.

This week’s share was all about the green, which must be thriving now that the weather is cooler once more. This week’s share contained:

  • 1 lb of arugula
  • 1 lb of baby bok choy
  • 0.5 lbs of spinach
  • 2 lbs of beets
  • 2 lbs of carrots
  • 1 lb of red tomatoes
  • 1 pint of cherry tomatoes
  • 3 peppers
  • 1 garlic stalk
  • 1 qt of beans
  • 1 bunch of scallions
  • 1 bunch of basil
  • 1 head of lettuce

Picking out the garlic

I was a little bit stumped about what to do with all the greens! I made the arugula into pesto and froze it. Because I have obviously lost my mind – I let Monster help me. Between imitating the sound of the food processor and eating the fruits of our labor (Monster LOVES pesto) – he had a blast! Now he asks to use the food processor everyday. This little boy is ridiculous!

My little taste-tester

I just love this smile – now if only I could have gotten Monster’s face centered when I took this photo!

The baby bok choy, carrots, and peppers will be used in a stir fry later this week. The red tomatoes, scallion, and some carrots were used in a lentil soup. The head of lettuce, some carrots, cherry tomatoes, and leftover peppers made a nice side salad for the week.

Maybe I’ll use the spinach in a vegetable pizza? Could be a good meal for Friday. 🙂

The remaining carrots were used to make carrot muffins! It seemed a fitting way to celebrate Monster’s 18 month birthday earlier this week.

Now I’m off to relax a bit before the week gets started. Hope you all had a restful weekend!

And I’m linking up to the “What’s in the Box” linky party over at In Her Chucks. When you have a few minutes, stop over and check it out! 🙂

2 thoughts on “CSA Adventures – Week 15

Leave a Reply

