Granola + Toddler = MESS

When Monster was a couple of months old, I “discovered” many, many blogs with bucket lists. I thought they were a great idea and created my own. I’ve been meaning to share it on here, but haven’t yet because I wanted to make it a “35 before 35” list…and, well, I haven’t thought of that many things I want to do yet. Apparently I’m a very lame person though. Once you see my list you will agree, because “make granola” is one of the items on my list.

I’ve been meaning to make granola for a few months now. I purchased all the ingredients then put it off because it was so hot this summer that I tried to avoid turning the oven on at all costs.

Now that our mornings and evenings are quite cool here, it seemed like a good time to make some granola. It’s really easy to make, so I thought it would be a perfect activity for Monster and I to do together.

In general, it was. Monster loved dumping ingredients, mixing them, and taste testing. I was being conservative and used an extra big bowl, which didn’t work as well as I thought it would because it made it hard for Monster to easily dump the ingredients in. (Note to self:  start looking for a Monster sized table so he can more easily help with cooking.)

Mixing is serious business

The Mess

Licking the spoon afterwards – the best part of baking 😉

And in case you’re curious, here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 2 t. cinnamon
  • 2 t. ground cloves
  • ¼ cup honey
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • 1 t. vanilla extract
  • 3 T. vegetable oil
  • ¼ cup of raisins
  • A handful of almonds, sliced

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 325°F.
  • Mix oats, cinnamon, and cloves together in a bowl.
  • Whisk honey, oil, brown sugar, and vanilla together in a small bowl.
  • Combine dry and wet mixtures together. Stir until oats are well coated.
  • Place on a baking sheet (a jelly sheet works great if you have one). Cook until slightly browned (about 25 – 30 minutes). Stir every 5 minutes. Turn baking sheet half way through cooking to ensure an “even” bake).
  • Mix in raisins and almonds.

It was pretty good, but I think we can do better. Looks like there will be many more batches of granola in our future this fall and winter. 🙂

What’s your favorite granola recipe?

12 thoughts on “Granola + Toddler = MESS

  1. I love the pictures, Lynn. I too have been wanting to make granola, but just haven’t done it yet. Thank you for the recipe. I bet Lucas enjoyed making the granola with you!

Leave a comment