CSA Adventures – Week 12

Well, our CSA is now officially more than half-over. Noo! Luckily there’s still 10 weeks of yummy vegetable goodness to enjoy!

Monster has really been enjoying our trips to the farm. He loves helping me select our share for the week – especially picking out the tomatoes (he really likes helping with this…I have to keep a close eye on him to make sure we don’t end up going home with more than our share).  He enjoys eating the tomatoes as much as he enjoys picking them out – Monster has usually snacked on a couple of cherry tomatoes before we’ve even left the farm. He also enjoys “talking” to the farmers and other customers, petting the dog, and looking at all the fun trucks and tractors on the farm.

Packing the veggies

Anyway – I digress. On to this week’s share!

The Haul:

  • 1 lb of carrots
  • 1 lb of eggplant
  • 1 bunch of scallions
  • 1 head of lettuce
  • 1 qt of beans
  • 3.5 lbs of heirloom tomatoes
  • 3 lbs of green tomatoes
  • 1 pt cheery tomatoes
  • 1 garlic head
  • 4 peppers

Week 12’s share

Our CSA gave us a recipe for fried green tomatoes this week that sounded interesting. I meant to make it this past weekend for brunch, but it slipped my mind and now our green tomatoes are…not green. 🙂 . I’ve been making variations of this stuffed peppers recipe the past couple weeks. Still haven’t found a winner yet, but maybe the third time will be the charm. The lettuce was delicious and made a beautiful salad. All the ripe tomatoes have been finding their way into dinner one way or another these days. I love me some fresh tomatoes! Really – sometimes I don’t know why I bother eating them when they’re out of season – they just don’t taste the same!

I’m stumped on what to do with the eggplant and carrots. I feel like I’ve exhausted my arsenal of eggplant recipes, which just means I need to find some new ones. Luckily the carrots will keep for another week if i don’t find any “inspiration” for them.

As always, I’m linking up to the “What’s in the Box?” party over at In Her Chucks. Check it out!

One thought on “CSA Adventures – Week 12

Leave a Reply

