Countdown to Christmas

Last November, I decided I wanted to make Monster a Christmas stocking, so I selected a felt stocking kit online and purchased it. I’d never made one before and figured the chances of getting it done in time for Christmas were slim. When it arrived and I read through the directions, I realized there was no way I was going to have it done in time for Christmas, so I didn’t even both starting it.

Instead, I decided to make it a New Year’s Resolution that I would finish it by this Christmas. I finally started working on it last week. And I’ve got to say…I don’t know if it will be done in time. Ha! So far, 2% of the felt pieces have been sewn together – which doesn’t include all the sequins and decorative stitching that also needs to be done. I’m still going to try my best to get it done though – after all, what’s the point of resolutions if you don’t at least try to follow through on them?

Under Construction

Despite the fact I might not meet my goal, I’ve found working on the stocking to be quite relaxing. It’s been so long since I’ve actually worked on any sort of craft, that I think I’m going to make it a habit out of setting some time aside each week to work on it, regardless of how many dirty dishes are piled in the sink or how much dust is currently collecting on the bookshelves. As important as these things are, taking some time for me to recharge and re-energize are just as important.

What do you like to do to relax and recharge?

2 thoughts on “Countdown to Christmas

  1. I like walking to relax. I also find reading is a nice way to unwind. It tends to just be in winter that I craft – knitting or crocheting. I hope you keep up setting aside time for yourself to recharge – so important!!

    • i enjoy reading as well, i just never seem to have enough time to finish books most of the time. i totally forgot that reading the “art of happiness” was on my resolutions list! i haven’t read it since November, so it looks like i’m going to have to go back and reread what i already read! Oops…

Leave a Reply

