CSA Adventures – Week 8

As has become my weekly modus operandus, I’m linking up to the “What’s in the Box?” linky party over at In Her Chucks. You really need to check it out when you get a chance. I’m having so much fun reading about everyone’s CSA experiences and trying out their delicious recipes!

Now – onto this week’s bounty! This week our cup really runneth over with fresh, crisp vegetables:

  •         3 lbs of Asian Eggplant
  •         2 lbs of carrots
  •         2 lbs of red beets
  •         1 head of cabbage
  •         5 cucumbers
  •         3 zucchini
  •         2 summer squash
  •         1 lb of heirloom tomatoes
  •         1 quart of cherry tomatoes
  •         1 bunch of lemon basil
  •         1 stalk of garlic

 We had friends over for dinner this weekend and we tried made this simple zucchini side dish. It was AH-MAZ-ING and so easy to make! In fact, we made this dish again last night, and scarfed it up!

This weekend we also made this beef stuffed zucchini. P was wonderful and actually did all the work on this one. He altered the recipe slightly (but I don’t have his version written down). I can tell you that in addition to the tomato sauce, he also sliced up the heirloom tomatoes and layered them on top. He also grilled the zucchini instead of microwaving it. It was SO GOOD!

The cherry tomatoes have become our go-to snack for the week. Fresh off the vine tomatoes are oh-so-tasty! They make me never want to eat a store-bought tomato ever again.

Since I’ve yet to make my traditional coleslaw and since this was our last week for cabbage – I finally made coleslaw with the cabbage and some of our carrots.

The remainder of the carrots (well, the one I hadn’t already eaten raw) were cooked up in a honey glaze as tonight’s dinner vegetable.

Tomorrow, I’m planning on making this Eggplant lasagna recipe. I’m also hoping to pick up some fresh local peaches tomorrow and plan on making a peach salad with the lemon basil. Yum!

The summer squash I’ve frozen, so we can enjoy it later this year, when our CSA is over. Freezing squash makes me nervous though, so I think this is the last week I’m going to do that. I really hope I’ve not ruined it!

I’m still trying to figure out what to do with the beets. I’m been reading lots of recipes that use beets in cakes and breads and I’m very tempted to try that…although P isn’t a big fan of sweets, so I try not to bake too much since I end up eating all most of it. I’m also thinking about trying to make some candied beets. We’ll see…

I used the cucumbers to make pickles. Can’t wait until they’re ready! 🙂

Thanks for reading through this week’s bounty. Despite my best intentions, it seems that every week it takes me a little bit longer to get this post up. I’m hoping to fix that this week – so I apologize in advance to those of you who like to tell me “enough about these vegetables – we want more Monster!” (you know who you are) for the influx of CSA posts you’ll see from me this week. I promise to make it up to you somehow. 😉

6 thoughts on “CSA Adventures – Week 8

  1. Hi!
    For the beets, check out this: http://weelicious.com/2011/06/28/red-beet-pancakes/

    If pancakes are not your thing, I like to clean the beets off really good and julienne them and just eat them raw in dips like hummus and other things. You can cut them and bake them on pan with just some olive oil and salt.

    If you choose to boil them, afterwards mix them with collard greens/kale/etc and lemon juice, black pepper and goat cheese.

    Nicole

    • You have no idea how many times I’ve meant to take a picture of the finished product and forgotten! I’ve even started putting my camera next to m plate so I couldn’t forget…only to notice it once dinner has been half eaten….definitely something I need to work on! Thanks for the Fabiola recipe – I’ll have to try that one the next time we get some eggplant. 🙂

  2. There is a Lebanese family near us that do the meat stuffed squash and my kids are all over it! Thanks for the reminder. Now I have to hope I get some more squash!

Leave a Reply

