CSA Adventures – Week 7 & A Recipe

First things first – I’m joining the “What’s In the Box” linky party over at In Her Chucks. If you’re looking for a new recipe to try, you should definitely head over and check out what everyone’s linked up. There are tons of fantastic ideas and I always find it so much fun to see what vegetables and fruits are in season in other regions of the USA.
Ok – now on to this week’s share. “Wait a minute…” you say “…week 6? Last you posted was week 5 – have you forgotten how to count?” There are many things I have forgotten since birthing Monster, but so far counting hasn’t been one of them. When our week 6 share was ready for pick-up, we were off gallivanting in the mountains, visiting with P’s family. My lovely mother was kind enough to pick up our share that week for us. If you’re interested – week 5’s share included: cucumbers, zucchini, summer squash, garlic, red cippollini onions, cabbage, & eggplant. I told my mom to keep our share – but she never listen’s to me, so we got many of these items upon our return.
Now down to business. Here’s the list of this week’s share:
  • 1 head of cabbage
  • 1 head of lettuce
  • 1 bunch of garlic
  • 1 bunch of red cippollini onions
  • 4 cucumbers
  • 3 zucchini
  • 3 summer squash
  • 1 bunch of carrots
  • 1 pint of gourmet cherry tomatoes
  • 2.5 lbs of red beets
This week I’m going to be brave and make home-made sauerkraut with some of the cabbage (it’s a HUGE head). I’ll reserve just enough cabbage to make this delicious Chicken and Cabbage Slaw recipe. I made it earlier this week and it was delicious and SO easy to make! Perfect for the hot weather we’ve been having lately.
We’ve never had red cippollini onions before, but they are to die for! They kind of remind me of green onions with a spicy kick to them! I’ve been using them in salads and in place of white onions in my regular cooking – today we added some to scrambled eggs – yummy!
I’m starting to run out of ideas for the zucchini and summer squash. I think I’m going to make some zucchini bread and freeze, as well as attempt to freeze some “plain” zucchini. I’m a little scared of blanching it though. Freezing and blanching broccoli and Swiss chard didn’t faze me, but for some reason I’m afraid I’ll mess up the zucchini and it will turn out rubbery and inedible. Don’t worry though – I’ll get over it (after all – there’s WAY too much zucchini in our fridge to eat and people are starting to decline my offers of free zucchini…). Does anyone have any experience in freezing zucchini? If so, any suggestions?
Now – here’s the recipe. We had a leftover eggplant from last week and P and I were trying to find a creative recipe to use it in. P found an online episode of Chow Ciao! that showed how to make Caponata. I google’d it and found this recipe. P swears it’s not true to the episode and I believe. But I’m also currently too lazy to search for and watch it again (which is actually pretty said, since it’s only 6 minutes long!) I modified the recipe slightly to use what we had on hand. I’m hoping we get more eggplant soon so I can try it again, following the directions given in the actual episode.
 
Adapted Caponata Recipe
  • Ingredients
    • 2 c onion, chopped
    • 2 c of carrots, chopped
    • 1 handful of fresh parsley, chopped
    • 1 whole eggplant
    • 1 whole zucchini
    • 1 c pine nuts (got a super good deal on them at Costco a while back…)
    • Extra virgin olive oil (I don’t measure, I just put in what “looks” like the right amount. Highly scientific, I know…)
    • Salt and pepper to taste
    • 1/2 c brown sugar
    • 1 c red wine vinegar
    • 10 lemon basil leaves, chopped
    • Dried thyme, to taste
    • Dried mint, to taste
    • 3 tbsp. tomato paste
  • Directions
    • Heat EVOO in a saute pan, over medium heat.
    • Add carrots, onion, and parsley and cook until caramelized.
    • Turn heat to high, add eggplant, zucchini, salt, and pepper. Cook until it’s wilted (<– I’ve no idea what this means. What, exactly does wilted eggplant and zucchini look like? i cooked it until it looked soft.)
    • Turn the heat back to medium, add pine nuts.
    • Let everything caramelize, stirring occasionally.
    • Add brown sugar and 1/2 c vinegar.
    • Add basil, dried thyme, and dried mint. Let the vinegar reduce.
    • Mix 1/2 c vinegar with tomato paste.
    • Add the vinegar/tomato paste mixture. Let cook an additional 3-5 minutes.

Yummy Caponata

This was delicious! Next time I make it, I’m hoping to have enough eggplant to just use that exclusively as the “squash” – as well as use fresh thyme and mint.
Now it’s your turn. What new recipe have you tried recently?
12 thoughts on “CSA Adventures – Week 7 & A Recipe

  1. You are such a sweetheart, Lynn. Thank you so much for linking to my blog. I promise to do the same for you. I love Fabio Viviani and Chow Ciao. I watch it every Monday, and I think I have a crush on Fabio! HeHe! You did an awesome job on the recipe. It looks just as good as his. Very nice picture, by the way.

    • Thank you for sharing your amazing recipes with the rest of us! I’m so enjoying seeing what you are making…and attempting some of your recipes as well! Fabio is quite good looking, I think I might have to start watching his weekly show now too… 😉

    • Will do. The directions are slightly off-putting – mentions skimming mold off the top of the mixture. I’m hoping this experiment doesn’t make me swear off sauerkraut for good, haha!

  2. Lynn,
    When we had an over abundance of zucchini, I would shred and freeze in amts. required for bread. Worked well, ready to go in the cooler weather when I wanted to turn on the oven 😀

    • That’s a great idea. I’ll have to do that with some of our zucchini. Now I just need P to learn to love zucchini bread so I’m not the only one eating it!

Leave a Reply

