Unplugged

For part of last week, we were without the internet. Horror of horrors! 😛

Surprisingly, it was a very refreshing reprieve. Most of my internet usage is spent reading blogs, Facebook stalking people, and checking e-mail. In the grand scheme of things, none of these activities are really all that important. In the 2.5 days were we without internet – I received zero important e-mails. Meaning every new e-mail in my inbox was junk mail or an e-newsletter or advertisement of some sort. I couldn’t tell you what I missed on Facebook, since I couldn’t be bothered to read through days and days of news feeds. And It probably took me less than 20 minutes to catch up on new blog posts.

Best of all, it forced me to be more present in the here and now. I got more done around the house and I’m sure Monster enjoyed not having to share attention with a computer screen. Now that we’re “connected” again, I’m trying to set rules for using the internet – like only when Monster is sleeping and after I’ve completed x, y and z. I wish I could say the new rules have stuck…but I’m still working on them. Overall, I’ve definitely been making more of an effort to only use the internet when Monster is sleeping – some days are more successful than others.

Practice makes perfect, so I’m hoping over time I’ll be able to break my habit of constantly checking e-mail, Facebook, blogs, etc. While technology is a wonderful tool and great for staying connected with friends and family, there is still something to be said for phone calls, face-to-face conversations, and even a hand written snail mail – as well as just being fully present in the moment.

I’ve read of some families implementing “technology free” days, where everyone (children and adults) is barred from using technology for a set period of time. I really like this concept and am thinking of implementing it in the Monster household soon. Just need to convince P that it’s a good idea. 🙂 Lately, I’ve been giving a lot of thought to Monster’s education and I think for the first 5 years or so his life, I’d really like to make it as technology free as possible. He most likely will spend a large portion of his teenage and adult life in front of a computer – so why start pushing it on him sooner than absolutely necessary? I realize there are other schools of thought on this , but lately I’ve been reading up on Waldorf and Montessori teaching styles and they both seem like such wonderful approaches. Still much reading and research to be done of course, but now I’ve gotten off -topic. Basically, all I’m trying to say is that I think a little less internet time in the Monster household will probably be a good thing.

Don’t worry dear readers – I’m going to continue to blog (and probably check my e-mail and Facebook far more frequently than I should some days). But in the interest of raising Monster, I’m going to make more of an effort to not be constantly “connected” to the internet. Wish me luck! 😉

Monster’s disbelieving face

 

4 thoughts on “Unplugged

  1. Pingback: Odds and Ends – Volume 1 « Me & Monster

Leave a Reply

