My Aha! Moment

I’m slightly embarrassed to admit this – but if you know me and you know Monster, I’m sure you won’t be surprised at all by what I’m about to tell you.

Last week Monster was sitting in my lap while I was typing at my computer. it was after lunch or dinner and I hadn’t finished clearing the table yet. Monster was happily playing with some of the utensils  (it’s one of his favorite activities), when he suddenly he stabs my computer with a fork. Specifically my ‘i’ key. He stabbed it so precisely that he punctured the gasket under the key, which caused the little piece of metal that contacts the part of the keyboard to apparently fly out. I have no idea where it went. I tried to find the piece but haven’t had any luck yet. So, I’ve been scouring the internet trying to figure out how to fix my ‘i’ key which is an interesting activity to undertake when your ‘i’ key isn’t working, only to come to the conclusion the only thing I can to do fix it is to buy a repair kit.

My sad, 'i'-less keyboard

With my memory being what it is, I hadn’t remembered to order it yet. Which actually turns out to be a good thing because today I had an ‘aha!’ moment. I realized that we have three broken computer taking up space sitting in a box in the closet. Each computer has a working ‘i’ key, so I think I should be able to remove the ‘i’ key from one of these computers and install it on mine. Haven’t undertaken this task yet, but I’m fairly confident that it will work.

The kicker is that I have been plotting the ‘disappearance’ of these computers for some time now, as they are taking up a lot of space and don’t work! Guess I’m going to have to rethink that course of action since they actually came in handy. Rats!

 

Leave a Reply

