Sleep Deprivation

A couple weeks ago P and I were talking and he mentioned he had a big anniversary coming up. P never remembers anniversaries of any kind, so I was interested to find out what was so momentous that even he remembered it.

Turns out, yesterday marked a year since the last time P had a good night’s sleep. And by that, I mean a good 8 hours of uninterrupted sleep. He asked me when the last time I had slept 8 hours straight was, and to be honest, I haven’t a clue. Long before Monster arrived, he was waking me up in the middle of the night. Although despite numerous late night bathroom runs, I still slept much better when Monster was in-utero compared to now.

We’re not complaining, of course. We’ve come to learn that “this too shall pass” – although in Monster’s case I’m pretty sure it will take years (and no, I’m not joking) before he sleeps through the night.

Some things do get better of course. A year ago today, I was in the beginning stages of labor. No matter how many times Monster wakes up tonight, I’ll definitely be getting more sleep tonight than I did a year ago, when I was much too excited to rest much (if only I’d known then what was in store for us in the ensuing days, perhaps I would have found it easier to sleep that night….). And as I’ve learned, it could ALWAYS be worse. Luckily we haven’t joined the “two under two” club – I tip my hat to those parents as I can only imagine the amount of sleep deprivation they endure. 🙂

We’re looking forward to celebrating Monster birthday in a couple days. We’ll be sure to take lots of pictures to share with all of you.

Fast asleep on the floor!

All tuckered out

Leave a Reply

