Nighttime Cloth Diapering Update

A few weeks ago, I wrote about my latest attempts at nighttime cloth diapering.  Since our local cloth diaper store is having a storewide sale today, now seemed like a good time to share an update on how it’s been going.

Sadly, the Bummis Fleece Liners I purchased have not been as successful in keeping Monster feeling dry throughout the night as I was hoping they would be. The fleece liners unfortunately only cover the middle section of the prefolds, and are also shorter than the prefolds, so at about 2:00 am or 3:00 am every night, Monster usually wakes up crying because his little bum cheeks are wet. These liners would probably work well in the bumGenius 4.0 diapers I use, but I’ve stopped using these at night because I inevitably end up soaked during a night nursing session, due to leakage. Monster has a skinny waist and chubby thighs right now, and I just can’t seem to get the legs AND waist to fit him well. I love these diapers during the day though when Monster is having more frequent diaper changes. Now that Monster is walking, maybe we’ll be able to use the bumGenius 4.0’s again at night in a couple of months, when his thighs have “slimmed” down, haha.

As disappointed as I am in the fleece liners, I could not be more happy with the Thristies Duo Wrap! The double leg gussets are fantastic and really hold everything in. I got the style with the velcro instead of the snaps – I like the velcro better because you’re able to get a more “true” fit around the waist. Also, this feels like it will hold up for a while – this cover feels “studier” compared to the covers I have been using. I’m definitely going to add a couple more to my stash, since they’re currently on sale. 😉

Monster Styling His Latest Diaper Cover

He Didn't Want To Sit Still

"I've Had Enough - I'm Outta Here!"

My next step for nighttime diapering is to make my own fleece liners. I’m thinking I can get some fleece from Joann and cut it to size. Just need to make it to a J0anns!

Any suggestions for nighttime cloth diapering?

2 thoughts on “Nighttime Cloth Diapering Update

  1. Pingback: Cloth Diapering Confession « Me & Monster

Leave a Reply

