Organization (Lack Thereof)

Lately (and by lately I mean since Monster was born), I’ve been desperately struggling to bring some semblance of order to our day-to-day lives. Even though I only work out of the home two days a week, it’s still tough trying to stay on top of chores, keep us feed, and take care of Monster. With Monster starting to take much shorter naps (only about 30 minutes, 2-3 times a day), my “free time” during his naps is now mostly consumed with eating lunch and dinner prep, and if he naps a bit longer I usually get some time to fold some laundry. Now that P’s latest semester has started, I’m back to being a “single parent” three days a week, so I’ll be losing an extra set of helping hands for almost half of every week.

Recently, I’ve been trying to get into the habit of cleaning up the dinner dishes, making lunch for the next day, and putting away all of Monster’s toys after he goes to bed for the night. I’ve also been trying to make sure I’m in bed by 11:00 pm every evening. I use the time between my “everyday” chores and bedtime to work on some other household chores (and sometimes fun things – like watching a tv show or knitting) I haven’t had time to do during the day. Right now, I’ve not got a schedule for these other chores – I just do them as I think of them and as energy permits. I’d really like to create a schedule for these other chores to help me get into a routine of doing them. I think it will help with my sanity and also hopefully make our place a little cleaner. 🙂

What have you found most helpful for keeping you on track and organized when it comes to household chores? Right now I’m leaning towards creating a schedule in a weekly planner, that way I can check off each item as it’s completed. Life isn’t perfect and never runs according to plan (at least mine doesn’t), so my biggest challenge is going to be sticking to my schedule/playing catch-up when something comes up that throws off the routine.

Give me your best ideas and tips for staying organized! I’m all ears! 🙂

We're listening!

2 thoughts on “Organization (Lack Thereof)

  1. Pingback: Let’s Talk About Lists « Me & Monster

Leave a Reply

