First Words

When Monster was just a wee baby (about 3 – 4 months old) we spent a lot of time outside. In those days I spent most of Monster’s awake time talking to him – I was afraid if I didn’t he would develop a limited vocabulary later as a result of too much silence (I was mental, I know).

There are a lot of pine trees near where we live, and one after after pointing them out to him for the hundredth time and exclaiming “Look at the green pine tree!)” – I’d had enough. From that point forward I started referring to them as conifers. Then I came up with the brilliant idea of trying to get conifer to be Monster’s first word. I mean seriously, how awesome impressive would that be?

Now that the colder weather is here, we’re mostly inside, so the frequency with which I use the word conifer has decreased drastically. Alas, I’ve all but given up on the hope of Monster saying conifer as his first word.

Recently, P and I have been discussing the Republican presidential candidates – and P gave me the brilliant idea of trying to get Monster to say Ron Paul as his first word(s). How cool would that be!?!? 🙂

The best part about this ridiculous amazing idea is that Monster and I can talk politics together now! Instead of reading The Little Engine That Could at bedtime, we can read the latest article about Ron Paul from the Wall Street Journal or the Washington Post.

This is really the best idea ever. Monster is either going to grow up to be President of the United States or need a lot of therapy. But really, either of those things could happen even if I don’t read him political articles now – so where’s the harm?

This look says "I'm going to say what I want, when I want!"

2 thoughts on “First Words

Leave a Reply

