The Lion Roars

Some days, I think monster is a genius. Other days, not so much. Case in point:

There is a lion decal on the wall next to his changing table. Often, while changing his diaper, I will point to the lion and say “What does the lion say? The lion says ‘ROAR!'” as a means of trying to distract him during the whole diapering process. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. Recently however, when I start the game, Monster has begun rolling to that side of the changing table and touching the lion.

The lion says 'ROAR!'

The first time he did it, I thought it might have just been coincidence. The second time it happened however, I promptly decided Monster was a genius. Word/image association at 9 months – that’s pretty good, right?

Other days though, I don’t think he is. I recently read that some babies can blow their own nose before the age of one. So I’ve been trying to get Monster to blow his own nose. He’s seen both me and P blow our nose. He thinks it’s hysterical. He doesn’t want to blow his nose. He also doesn’t want his nose wiped – every time I do he screams like a banshee. You’d think I’m pinching the kid or something.

Mine boogers

I guess what it all boils down to is that Monster is learning and growing at his own pace. He’ll learn to blow his nose when he’s good and ready. And that’s a good thing. šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “The Lion Roars

Leave a Reply

